Flickmas: The Christmas Spirit

I will never forgive any of you for letting me call it Flick Thoughts when Flickmas was RIGHT THERE. COME ON, LYFERS.

That being said, we have to walk about 2015’s The Christmas Spirit.

This is going to be short, because I don’t want to spoil it for you.

But it’s on Netflix, and you should watch it. Like. I’m not making this short because I’m lazy and have things to clean. I am, and I do, but that’s not the point.

Yeah But. Why, Buttnana.
It blends Christmas and a ghost story. It raises questions about what it means to believe. And y’all know how much I love existential believe-y questions. The mystery angle could have been stronger but it was a love story more than a mystery so I understand why it wasn’t more married (or should I say merried) to the mystery angle. Anyway! The characters aren’t totally cliche. It’s a unique story that I’ve not heard before. There’s a really interesting parallel between A Christmas Carol and this film.

Lyfers. I wanted them to end up together. I really did. I teared up toward the end at the apparent defeat of the film. I really, really wanted them to be happy.

SO DID THEY END UP TOGETHER?
I’m not even going to tell you. Just. Trust me. Settle in with a blanket…and watch it.

Leave a Reply

