Faceday: All Greige Everything

Ayyy lyfers. I’m Buttnana and it’s time for the FIRST EVER Faceday post. On point makeup doubles as self-care for me. Major inspirations for this look (All Greige Everything) include Tati Westbrook and SoCal as a region. Because I am not immune to the airy yet glamorous aesthetic.

Bonus Adventure!
Okay, so don’t judge me but I really needed new makeup. My foundation was making me too shiny, my blush game was nonexistent, I ran out of mascara and I was just really tired of not having any greige lipstick. Or nail polish.
I tried to not get on the greige train but I can’t help it. I need it.
So this morning, after I got up at five god damn thirty and ate breakfast, I showered and went to Walgreens for the first time ever. Yes. The first actual time ever. No shit. So this is my big naked face on the way there.

img_5499

I was mad nervous on the way in because new places make me anxious. And I didn’t have high hopes because I’ve never had good luck finding makeup at the drugstore before. But I was wrong. Because I went in looking for foundation, concealer, blush, lipstick, mascara, and maybe greige nail polish. And I found it ALL at Walgreens save for the mascara.
After a quick trip to Rite Aid, I came home with my spoils, and I was ready to try out all of these new products at the same time. MEGA TRY ON.

img_5501

I used these products beforehand, just so we’re all on the same page about how I prepped my face. I’ll keep y’all posted on how Imperialis works out for me. I just started using it again after we broke up for awhile.

img_5498

Aaand here’s me after I did my hair because I have an annoying trendy haircut and I HAVE to do something with it or look a little fluffy up top in a not-cute way.

img_5502

First Impressions of the New Products
Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless foundation in Classic Ivory
Application: I blended it with a dampened real essentials beauty blender. It gave me medium coverage (which is fine because my skin is mostly behaving for now) but it was super lightweight and I don’t feel like I’m wearing a heavy layer of makeup.
Notes: I have a hard time finding foundation that matches me because I’m fresh out of the grave pale, oily af, and also pretty pink. But this matches. Dope. We’ll see how it wears. Does anyone care about product reviews from a dirty queer like myself? Let me know.

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circles in Fair
Application: I was real skeptical of twisting the bottom to get the product out because I was convinced it was going to squirt everywhere (because I’m irrational today) and then I panicked because it looked super dark when it came through the sponge. I triangled it on under my eyes directly from the sponge because I fear no germs. Then I used the same beauty blender to pat it in. I used my finger to dab it in directly on the side of my nose because that’s where I’m the darkest and it blended out just fine with the corner of my beauty blender.
Notes: It works great thus far. It covered my dark circles. And. Girl. I have me some DARK CIRCLES. But it didn’t look cakey or thick so it didn’t exaggerate my burgeoning mid-20’s fine lines (which I love, I just don’t want to look like I’m wearing old age theater makeup).

Maybelline Fit Me blush in Light Mauve
Application: I used a pretty firm stippling brush to dab it on the apples of my cheeks and swept up my cheekbones. The fallout is minimal and it is matte with no shimmer.
Notes: I only ever used mauve blush for YEARS because, uh, let’s be real. I don’t have a whole lot of actual color in my cheeks. I fell off that wagon for years and let me tell you I am STRONGLY back on that wagon. It’s SO pretty. It’s subtle but flattering. It can stay.

Maybelline Loaded Bolds lipstick in Gone Greige
Application: From the tube, son. Straight from the tube.
Notes: Application was smooth but a wee bit patchy. Nothing a spot fix didn’t take care of. Because it’s a solid lipstick it’s not transfer proof. However, it is matte. Like matte matte. And it’s comfortable! It’s not drying out my lips or sliding around. It just sits there and is cute. Very impressed. Will keep. Such greige. Wow.

Covergirl Katy Kat Eye mascara in Very Black
Application: From the tube with the weird spiral brush I’m not crazy about. I had to work at it a little to get all of my lashes covered. I should mention that I have really long, plushy eyelashes so it legit takes me a minute to apply mascara to all of my lashes. BUT EVEN SO. Ridiculous. Do not love. I then went over the product with a (mostly) clean spoolie brush to sort of separate the product and even it out. I had some clumping. I think the brush makes product sit in uneven places beause it twists around in a spiral.
Notes: After I worked at the product (and I always have to work at it because my lashes love to clump due to the fact that I have eight billion of them) it looked like I was wearing false lashes. The Covergirl formula has always worked well for me and I think the brush, despite the weirdness, will prove useful once I figure it out. If you’re curious about the Katy Kat mascara I say, for $8 and this much volume and definition, give it a go.

essie nail polish in Chinchilly
Application: I used Sally Hansen’s Hard as Wraps as a base coat, one coat of the polish, and Nicole by OPI’s Top Coat Plus as a top coat.
Notes: essie is my favorite nail polish. I’m not going to post a picture today because my nails are a little stained from the polish I was wearing before and I’m not finna post some shit that makes the polish look worse. But it’s true to the color in the bottle (darker greige) and I’m in love with it. I highly recommend Chinchilly.

The End Result
At the end of the application, here’s everything else I used on my face.
Not pictured because I forgot I was doing this and put a couple of things back: the mascara and the lipstick. I did in fact wear them.
img_5503img_5505

I pointed out the shades I used from from this old af Ulta palette. Petal makes an incredible highlighter. Heart eyes.

Aaand here’s what I ended up looking like after all was said and done! I liked the natural light pictures a lot more. These are filter-free pictures. Which I NEVER take. All in all I’m really impressed so far and I feel like I’m slaying my mid-20’s today.

Excuse me whilst I eat this Cobb salad and watch Nurse Jackie like the basic white girl I am.

Until next time, Lyfers. Stay classy. 😉

<3,
Buttnana

Leave a Reply

